3rd March, Fairfield Halls, Croydon, Surrey, 7.30

Parry Blest Pair of Sirens
Elgar Enigma Variations
Vaughan Williams A Cambridge Mass

The New Queen’s Hall Orchestra
The Bach Choir
Alan Tongue, Conductor

Vaughan Williams submitted the work in 1899 as the exercise for his Cambridge Doctor of Music degree. The conductor, Alan Tongue, has realised the work's full potential and made a performing edition. The work consists of a three-movement mass for soloists, double chorus and orchestra and has already been described by Michael Kennedy as ‘really amazingly good’. The piece lasts about 45 minutes.

The score was written to quite a strict brief which required students to write partly in fugue and canon, but we understand that plenty of Vaughan Williams's own personality comes through. Music experts say that the score shows many touches of the composer's genius. ‘A Cambridge Mass’ is being published by Stainer & Bell: http://www.stainer.co.uk/rvw.html from where you can hear a sample.


© 1999 - 2019 www.classicalsource.com Limited. All Rights Reserved