The clarinettist Martin Fröst has been announced as the next recipient of the Léonie Sonning Music Prize, one of the oldest and most prestigious music awards in the world. Since 1959, the Danish Sonning Music Prize has been presented to the leading musical personalities of their day, including Igor Stravinsky, Leonard Bernstein, Dmitri Shostakovich, Mstislav Rostropovich, Miles Davis, Alfred Brendel, Keith Jarrett and Isaac Stern. Martin Fröst is, besides Birgit Nilsson (1966) and Eric Ericson (1991), the only Swede to receive this international award.

The most recent recipient of the Léonie Sonning Music Prize is Sir Simon Rattle, who is the prize winner for 2013 and received his award in Copenhagen last weekend.

To receive this award is a tremendous honour, and I feel humbled and privileged to be admitted into such an illustrious company of musicians. – Martin Fröst

The Léonie Sonning Music Prize consists of the sum of 80.000 Euro, and will be presented at a gala concert in Copenhagen during the spring of 2014. In their deliberations, the directors of the Léonie Sonning Music Foundation are charged with the task of selecting a candidate who ranks among the best in his or her field and is likely to remain so in the future.


© 1999 - 2020 Limited. All Rights Reserved