On 12 May 2016 the Jury of The Mahler Competition 2016 publicly announced the winners of the Competition.

1st Prize (€ 20,000): Kah Chun Wong, Singapore (born 24 June 1986)
2nd Prize (€ 10,000): Sergey Neller, Russia (born 27 October 1986)
3rd Prize (€ 5,000): Valentin Uryupin, Ukraine (born 11 December 1985)
No fourth prize was awarded.

Biography Kah Chun Wong
Kah Chun Wong, born in 1986, is the Artistic Director and Conductor of the Asian Contemporary Ensemble. March 2015 saw his debut with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra. He has appeared with orchestras such as the Berlin Konzerthaus Orchestra, the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, the George Enescu Philharmonic and Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. A protégé of Kurt Masur, he was invited to study with him at five masterclasses in New York, Leipzig and Tokyo, and two with the Baltic Youth Philharmonic. In September 2013, he assisted Kurt Masur at the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra.

»After examining the art of conducting at very close quarters for more than a week«, says Jonathan Nott, President of the Jury, »we the Jury have enjoyed a thrilling final. As before, over 10 days we’ve been introduced to 14 gifted young conductors. And thanks once again to the candidates’ extraordinarily high standard, we’re delighted to be able to award three prizes.«

On Friday 13 May 2016, at 19.00, the overall winner of the Competition, Kah Chun Wong, will conduct the Bamberg Symphony in the closing concert, during which all the winners will also be presented with their prizes. On the programme will be works from the Competition’s set repertoire, by Georg Friedrich Haas, Henri Dutilleux, Gustav Mahler and Jörg Widmann.

Founded by the Bamberg Symphony and its Principal Conductor, Jonathan Nott, with the patronage of the composer’s grand-daughter, Marina Mahler, The Mahler Competition takes place every three years. This year, there were 381 applicants from 64 countries. 14 candidates were invited to Bamberg, 11 male and 3 female. This year’s Jury comprised Jonathan Nott, Marina Mahler, Marcus Rudolf Axt, Chief Executive of the Bamberg Symphony, the conductors Jiří Bělohlávek, John Carewe and Sir Neville Marriner, the conductor and singer Barbara Hannigan, the conductor and composer Jörg Widmann, the President and CEO of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Deborah Borda, the artist consultant Martin Campbell-White, the Provost and Dean of the Juilliard School Ara Guzelimian, and Boris-Alexander Jusa, a member of the Bamberg Symphony.

The Mahler Competition 2016 is supported by generous donations from the Friends of the Bamberg Symphony, the company Brose Fahrzeugteile GmbH & Co. KG in Hallstadt and the Oberfrankenstiftung.


© 1999 - 2020 www.classicalsource.com Limited. All Rights Reserved