First Prize: $30,000

Additional 1st Place Prizes Include: Artist Management and Public Relations Support as well as New Violin, Silver-Mounted Bow, and Musafia Case

First Prize Winner Will Also Perform with the Following Orchestras and Festivals: Atlantic Classical Orchestra; Bach, Beethoven and Brahms Society; Brevard Symphony Orchestra; Music in the Mountains; and Newport Music Festival, Among Others

BOCA RATON, FL—Sirena Huang (age 22 from the United States) has been named the First Prize Winner of the inaugural Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition. As first prize winner, Sirena Huang, receives a cash prize of $30,000 as well as a new violin, crafted by celebrated violin makers Feng Jiang, Jeffrey Phillips, Andrew Ryan and John Young; a Silver-mounted bow from Eric Lane; a coveted Musafia Case donated by Reuning and Son Violins, Inc.; a signed copy of “The American Violin” provided by Tucker Densley, Christopher Germain, Philip J. Kass, Darcy Kuronen, John Montgomery and P. Dameron Midgett, IV; and a $250 gift certificate given by International Violin Company. Additionally, the first prize winner will receive public relations and artist management support, with future performances with the following orchestras and festivals: Atlantic Classical Orchestra, Fort Pierce, FL; Bach, Beethoven and Brahms Society, Brookline, MA; Brevard Symphony Orchestra, Melbourne, FL; Music in the Mountains, Durango, CO; and Newport Music Festival, Newport, RI, among others.

Second prize winner Alina Ming Kobialka received a cash prize of $15,000. Third prize winner, Hannah Tarley, received a cash prize of $10,000. And, Quanshuai Li, receive Honorable Mention, with a cash prize of $1,000.

The EOIVC Finals were held on Saturday, February 4 at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, February 5 at 4:00 p.m. at the Wold Performing Arts Center. The four finalists—that advance through the EOIVC Semi Final Rounds I and II—were featured in a performance with the Lynn Philharmonia conducted by Music Director Guillermo Figueroa. Each of the finalists was given an option to perform one of two concertos: Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major (performed by Sirena Huang) and Sibelius’s Violin Concerto in D minor (performed by Alina Ming Kobialka, Quanshuai Li, and Hannah Tarley). The event was streamed live on the EOIVC YouTube channel as well as on Facebook.


© 1999 - 2018 Limited. All Rights Reserved