The Musicians Company’s Honorary Freedom is the highest recognition award that the Company can bestow and has been given in the past to such musical greats as Edward Elgar, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Hubert Parry, Charles Stanford, Henry Wood, Arnold Bax, Arthur Bliss, Benjamin Britten, William Walton, Michael Tippett and more recent years Cleo Lane, Janet Baker, Peter Maxwell Davies, Colin Davis and Gillian Weir.

Associated with its widespread support for young musicians across all musical genres, the Musicians’ Company has a long tradition of recognising creative talent and the contribution that distinguished artists have made to the music profession.

The Hon Freedom scroll was presented by the Master of the Musicians’ Company, Lady Brewer, at The Company’s Installation Dinner last week, following the the admittance of Sir Antonio Pappano as an Honorary Freeman of the Company.

Each year the Musicians’ Company, one of the oldest and most respected charitable companies in the City of London, donates over £200,000 in scholarships and awards in support of young musicians at the start of their careers across all musical disciplines.


© 1999 - 2020 Limited. All Rights Reserved