BBC Radio 3 has announced the seven musicians from around the world who have been selected to join its prestigious New Generation Artists scheme from 2019-2021.

The musicians joining the scheme are: pianists Eric Lu and Alexander Gadjiev, violist Timothy Ridout, mezzo-soprano Ema Nikolovska, violinist Johan Dalene, the Consone Quartet and jazz guitarist Rob Luft.

Now in its twentieth year, BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme was founded in 1999 with the aim of nurturing and promoting some of the world’s best young musicians at the start of their international careers. Over the past twenty years the scheme has featured a series of major names from the world of classical music today, including violinist Janine Jansen, mezzo-soprano Alice Coote and percussionist Colin Currie.

New Generation Artists are given the opportunity to broadcast from some of the UK’s most prestigious venues and festivals, make studio recordings, and collaborate with other NGAs in chamber music. Every New Generation Artist performs in Radio 3’s flagship Lunchtime Concert series from Wigmore Hall; there are also opportunities to work with the BBC Orchestras, and for new music commissions.

Through supporting the brightest musicians in reaching the next stage of their careers, the NGA scheme showcases new talent to listeners across the UK through a series of BBC Radio 3 broadcasts. Over the past 20 years the scheme has supported well over a hundred internationally recognised artists as diverse as pianists Igor Levit and Beatrice Rana, Andrei Ionita (cello), Lawrence Power (viola), Mark Simpson (clarinet), the Pavel Haas and Belcea Quartets, Sean Shibe (guitar), singers including Elizabeth Watts (soprano) and Ashley Riches (bass-baritone), jazz trumpeter Laura Jurd, and Gwilym Simcock (jazz piano).

Emma Bloxham, Editor, BBC Radio 3 says: “BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme offers an unrivalled platform to some of the world’s most exceptional young musicians at the start of their international careers. As ever it’s been a great privilege to hear the wealth of young talent out there, and I’ve absolutely no doubt these seven young musicians will do us proud as we celebrate 20 years of music-making at the very highest level.”

Alan Davey, Controller, BBC Radio 3 says: “I’m proud of our New Generation Artists scheme and the opportunities it gives young musicians to develop and thrive. In its 20th year we have an amazing group of young artists who will change the world for the better by making great music. From a string quartet using period instruments to a prominent UK jazz guitarist, we are proud to reflect all different types of music in this year’s selection. I know each will grow singly and also together, as further opportunities to record and perform allows them to fulfil their potential and build on their already considerable achievements. Welcome to the Class of 2019!”

This year’s New Generation Artists will join those who began the scheme in 2018, and listeners will be able to hear from both talent pools throughout the year. The 2018-2020 New Generation Artists who will remain on the scheme for another year are: tenor Alessandro Fisher, cellist Anastasia Kobekina, the Aris Quartet, pianist Elisabeth Brauss, baritone James Newby and soprano Katharina Konradi.


© 1999 - 2020 Limited. All Rights Reserved