Donatella Flick is to receive the Montblanc de la Culture Arts Patronage Award at a ceremony to be held in central London on 5th June 2007. Chairman of the Montblanc de la Culture Foundation Wolff Heinrichsdorff will be presenting her with the prestigious award which every year recognises an individual's outstanding support of the arts.

Donatella Flick has been selected to receive the award by an international jury in honour and recognition of her role as a patron of the arts, in particular for creating the biennial Donatella Flick Conducting Competition. Inaugurated in 1990 under the patronage of HRH The Prince of Wales, it is established as one of the major international competitions for young conductors in Europe - its aim is to help a young conductor from the European Union establish an international conducting career.

Donatella Flick is a former gymnast, studied philosophy at Rome University and is celebrated for her musical passion, philanthropy and patronage of the arts in Britain and across the world. The achievements of Donatella Flick and the competition she created have been widely recognised. Indeed, she was awarded the European Project Award for Music by the jury of the Pro European Foundation for Culture in September 2000 and in 2002, she received the Wilhelm Furtwängler Prize for her continuing encouragement of young conductors in this competition. In October 2006 Donatella Flick was awarded the Commendatore al Merito della Repubblica Italiana, presented to her by Carlo Azelio Ciampi.

The Montblanc de la Culture Arts Patronage Award was established in 1992 to honour and support patrons of the arts who have given exceptional time and energy to artists and their work. To be chosen, a winning patron has to demonstrate both a history of personal commitment to the arts but also a concern that the wider public should benefit as a result of that support. Previous winners of the Award include Zandra Rhodes (2006), Lord & Lady Sainsbury (2005), Michelle Yeoh (2002), Brian Eno (2000), Hélène David-Weill (1998) and Susan Sontag (1994).


© 1999 - 2019 Limited. All Rights Reserved