Nicola Benedetti and Friends play Brahms’s First Piano Trio BBC Proms2020


Piano Trio No 1 in B major

Arlene Sierra

Butterflies Remember a Mountain

Nicola Benedetti (violin)
Leonard Elschenbroich (cello)
Alexei Grynyuk (piano)

Reviewed by:

Reviewed: 9 August, 2020

When not performing as a soloist, violinist Nicola Benedetti appears frequently as a chamber musician – most often with the trio she co-founded with pianist Alexei Grynyuk and cellist Leonard Elschenbroich. Here the three musicians pair Brahms’s first and stormiest piano trio – its darkness belying the work’s major key – with music composed in 2013 by American-born composer Arlene Sierra. Inspired by the migration patterns of butterflies, her Butterflies Remember a Mountain is a work of pointillist detail and shimmering harmonies, painted in a sequence of delicate textural gestures.

Read Past Reviews on the Classical Source

(From BBC Proms 7 September 2015)

Skip to content