Organ Symphony

Arvo Pärt
Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten
Violin Concerto, Op.15
Overture Le Corsaire, Op.21
Symphony No.3 in C minor, Op.78 (Organ)

Janine Jansen (violin)

Thierry Escaich (organ)

Orchestre de Paris
Paavo Järvi

Reviewed by:

Reviewed: 23 August, 2020

Paavo Järvi and the Orchestre de Paris continue our series of highlights from the Proms archive, beginning with Arvo Pärt’s meditative Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten. Janine Jansen is the soloist in Britten’s Violin Concerto, written during the composer’s war-time years in New York. ‘I feel so deeply about this piece… one experiences the incredible strength of it,’ Jansen has said.
The Mediterranean verve of Berlioz’s overture Le Corsaire and the shimmering weight of full orchestra and organ in Saint-Saëns’s Third Symphony complete a programme of introspective reflection and extrovert display.

Read Past Reviews on the Classical Source

(From the BBC Proms 2013, 1 September)

Skip to content