Vasily Petrenko conducts Rachmaninov and Shostakovich

Emily Howard

Torus (Concerto for Orchestra) (world premiere)


Cello Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 3

Alexey Stadler (cello)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

Reviewed by:

Reviewed: 27 August, 2020

‘A composer’s music should express his love affairs, his religion, the books that have influenced him, the pictures he loves.’ So said Rachmaninov, whose Third Symphony does just that through irrepressible yearning and longing. It forms the culmination of this performance from the 2016 Proms archive, in which the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and its Russian Chief Conductor performed Shostakovich’s disquieting First Cello Concerto, joined by cellist Alexey Stadler. The concert opens with Liverpool-born Emily Howard’s Torus, inspired by the doughnut-shaped form of ‘the whole with a hole’.

Read Past Reviews on the Classical Source

(From the BBC Proms 2016, 25 August)

Skip to content