Vaughan Williams Symphonies Nos 4, 5 and 6

Vaughan Williams

Symphony No. 4 in F minor
Symphony No. 5 in D major
Symphony No. 6 in E minor

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Andrew Manze (conductor)

Reviewed by:

Reviewed: 12 August, 2020

At the 2012 season Andrew Manze tackled three very different, powerful symphonies by Vaughan Williams which, whatever their own emotional back-stories, may still be seen as chronicling our national life in troubled times. While he was Associate Guest Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Manze conducted all nine Vaughan Williams symphonies, commenting: “Vaughan Williams is one of those composers some people have fixed ideas about… I’m on a bit of a mission to rehabilitate him in people’s minds as an important figure in the music-making of this country”.

Read Past Reviews on the Classical Source

(From BBC Proms 2012, 16 August)

Skip to content